RBNZ chief economist goes

The Reserve Bank’s Head of Economics and Chief Economist, Yuong Ha, is to leave next year after 25 years with the bank.

Ha is also an inaugural member of the Monetary Policy Committee. He will depart after next year's February Monetary Policy Statement.

RBNZ bank governor Adrian Orr thanked Ha for his contribution to monetary policy. 

Ha’s position on the Monetary Policy Committee will be filled by the RBNZ Board, the Governor and the Minister of Finance appointing a candidate from within the bank. 

The current Monetary Policy Committee comprises Governor Adrian Orr, Deputy Governor Geoff Bascand, Christian Hawkesby and Ha, along with the external members, Professor Caroline Saunders, Professor Bob Buckle and the former Trade Union economist Peter Harris.

Most Read

Get TMM delivered to your inbox each week

Sign Up